INTERVIEWED : ANCIENT GEMSTONES

Ancient Gemstones

ANCIENT GEMSTONES IS THE NORWEGIAN ELECTRO/DUBSTEP PRODUCER EIRIK DJUVSLAND.

EVEN THOUGH HIS 7 YEAR OLD MAC WAS ONCE STRUCK BY LIGHTNING, IT STILL TO THIS DAY MANAGES TO ASSIST HIM IN MAKING BANGIN’ DUBSTEP. HE ALSO WANTS TO HEAR GUY RITCHIE GOSSIP ABOUT MADONNA.

Who are you? How are you feeling today?
My name is Eirik Djuvsland aka Ancient Gemstones. I create dubstep/electro.
I’m all good! thank you for asking.

What’s going on at the moment? Any upcoming projects?
I’m doing some work on a promo tape right now for Ancient Gemstones, planning another EP soon. Also working on my side project We Are Mystery’s next EP, and I get behind some drums again this year in a new rock/punk/hardcore band called “Swimming With Sharks”.

For how long have you been producing music?
I think I was like 14 or something when I was in my first band. Since then, I have played drums in a handful of punk bands, picking up guitar and keys trough the years. But in 2010 I discovered the magic of producing and programming music on computers.
Producing in a DAW is a real power feel. It lets you create you. You have all the tools and instruments, and you can do what ever you want.
35 saxophones only? No problem.

What do you think of your music?
I don’t know. I really love making it. This is what it sounds like when I produce. This is me. It’s hard to explain what you feel about yourself in a way. I just do the things that come naturally, and that’s the whole beauty of it to me. I like artists with a distinct sound, because you know it is straight them.

Why did you start making music?
I was curious on the hole programming of drums process, chopping of samples and so one. A good friend of mine, Justin Credible produces allot of underground hip hop
and showed me the ropes, took me under his wing and let me loose on the keyboard. He also forced me to realize the importance of things like EQing drums, sub bass, properly cut samples and so one. I owe allot to him. Curiosity was a driving force, but also knowing the amount of work that I had to put in my tracks. you have to be a perfectionist in electro/dubstep, and chase perfection witch you may never experience. knowing that really drove me further into it.

Do you feel like your music mirrors your personality?
Yeah I do. My personality is complex, like everybody else. therefore my music is as-well, because I let me and my personality shine, and not my hunger for money, or trying to please everyone.

What’s the most fun part of being a musician?
Live looping beats and stuff on just a MPD with a sampler is really fun. playing around trying new things and the freedom you have as a producer. nobody produces your music better than you, And nobody tells me what to do but myself.

What inspires you?
Skateboarding, friends, movies, tv-series, art in general, good times, life if lived right.

What was the first thing you thought about when you woke up today?
How dumb I’m gonna look on the promo pictures after a knife shaving incident on my chin a couple of days ago.
Also, I was extremely cold due to lack of window closing. In short, I was pondering the fact that I’m an idiot.

Who are your influences?
This might get long; Midnight Juggernauts, Metronomy, Gorillaz, Kid koala, Mr scruff, Bonobo, Nujabes , Kill The Noise, Knife Party, Skrillex (he gets allot of undeserved hate. everybody that does sound design knows how sick his skills are) Badbadnotgood, David Holmes, Barron, Zomboy, SebAstian, Daft Punk and so on. I could name drop for a couple of days.

What’s your favorite song at the moment?
Posij – Empty Lungs. That song really hit me and my emotions. So smooth and beautiful chords, fueled with raw power and anger, it’s like really mellow and melancholy, sad but filled with hope.

What have you got in your pockets today?
iPhone, Romeo y Julieta snus, (aka smokeless tobacco) my wallet and my keys.

Your most prized possession?
Even if it is material, I have to say my 7 year old, sturdy as hell Mac. It was hit by lightning, fixed and is still working. Sure we’ve had our differences, it really likes to lag when I produce. But even after a lot of “is this it!?” scares, it still fights trough.

What’s the one thing you can’t live without?
My friends and family.

What would we find in your refrigerator right now?
Household, normal lame things like cheese, milk, soda and so on.
Straight up food business.

If you could trade places with any other person for a week, living or dead, real or fictional, who would you choose?
Kratos from the God Of War game series. His insane anger and straight gangsterness (is it cool I make up words?) is something I want to experience first hand. He destroys everything. He kills Hades, ruler of the underworld and climbs the chains of Olympus to mess up Zeus. All just for revenge.

Which super power would you like to have and why?
The art of flight and levitation I think. Everybody wants to fly. Iron Man was the coolest avenger as well, in my opinion.

What would be your ideal birthday party?
A chill skatepark session with all my friends would have been cool.
Maybe with Eptic playing? That would have been sick.

What’s your favorite word?
“Inception”. It sounds so neat and clean, and they gave the word a whole dope movie. Also “Yes”.

Top three dinner guests, and why those?
Larry David, because he is a comedy genius. George R.R. Martin because of his work on the Game of thrones series and he seems like a funny dude. And Guy Ritchie, because his movies are sick and I have some questions about Madonna I think only he can answer.

If heaven exists, what would you want to hear God say when you arrive at the pearly gates?
“I’m real motherfucker!” Nah,but maybe something like
“You did well”. I really doubt he’d say that, but I would really appreciate it if he did.

What profession would you absolutely NOT like to do?
I used to work as a cashier at a grocery store, that really, seriously sucked. Returning to that still haunts me in my sleep.

Ancient_Gemstones



Leave a Reply

